Award & Trainings

ICFJ accepting entries for storytelling award [Africa]

Posted on Nov 12, 2021, in INVESTIGATIVE JOURNALISM

English-speaking journalists working for print, broadcast, and online news media based in Africa can enter this contest.

The International Center for Journalists (ICFJ), in collaboration with the Elliott family and ONE, is accepting entries for the 2022 Michael Elliott Award for Excellence in African Storytelling. The award honors up-and-coming journalists in Africa who strive to strengthen people’s voices and illuminate the transformational change taking place on the continent. The contest is named after distinguished editor, former ONE CEO and longtime ICFJ board member Michael Elliott.

This year, two winners will receive a US$1,000 cash prize to pursue an in-depth reporting project. In a study tour organized by ICFJ, the winners will spend time in U.S. newsrooms to learn new skills and share knowledge.

In order to take full advantage of the study tour, applicants must speak English, even if they work in another language.


  • The contest is open to up-and-coming, English-speaking journalists working in Africa for print, broadcast and online news media.
  • Applicants must have no more than 10 years of journalism experience.
  • Applicants must submit one published story that exemplifies Africa through thoughtful reporting and excellent storytelling.
  • The submission can be web, audio, video, visual or mixed media. The submitted story must have been published between Dec. 1, 2020 and Dec. 1, 2021.
  • The published story or broadcast must be submitted in English. Works in other languages must include English translations.

The deadline is Jan. 30, 2022.

MIRH Productions

Previous article

Final Mass Media Policy

Next article

You may also like


Comments are closed.